Synchronize Forks

Sync Forks is an Always Be Closing (ABC) feature that automatically syncs forked repositories to the upstream repository. Whenever a new commit is placed on the default branch of the upstream repository, the default branch of the fork repository is forced to that commit. This is a destructive operation. Do not make any commits on the default branch or they will be lost.

The sync fork feature will create a new branch and a new pull request on the forked repository. The pull request allows Always Be Closing to receive notification of commits from the upstream repository. Do not edit the pull request. If you accidentally delete the pull request then you will have to delete your fork repository and recreate it so that synchronization will resume.

This feature requires write access to the git contents of your repository. Due to this requirement the feature is not available in the “Always Be Closing Jr” service. ABC Jr only provides features that do not require read/write access to contents of the git repository.

Install Always Be Closing via the GitHub marketplace. This feature can be enabled on the configuration dashboard. Leave feedback at the ABC community site.